Tilting and shifting

Last Saturday I discovered I was really wrong about what a tilt-and-shift lens is.

I saw this man shooting with what looked like a regular wide-angle lens. I thought it was a Canon 8-15mm fisheye, so I  approached him and asked him if I could take a look at the pictures he was taking (I wanted to check the distortion of the lens).
It wasn’t a wide-angle, at least a regular one but a tilt-and-shift.


Image from “The Digital Picture”

I always thought that a tilt-and-shift lens would tilt to the left and right giving you the possibility to capture weird angles without distorting the photo.
And, oh boy, I was so wrong. He placed the camera in my hands and explained me what to do.
The lens is heavy and difficult to manipulate. I felt really dumb while trying to understand what he was doing.
It was a really interesting experience. You can move the lens up and down, point to a building or something and see the magic happening. The things you are shooting will not be distorted at all.
I thought to myself that the lens is a really fantastic toy with a bunch of possibilities.

And no, I will not buy it. I will keep my my 17-40mm with distortion and everything. 🙂

See more about this lens here: http://www.the-digital-picture.com/Reviews/Canon-TS-E-17mm-f-4-L-Tilt-Shift-Lens-Review.aspx

4 thoughts on “Tilting and shifting

Leave a Reply

